Tags

, , , , , , ,

You know Jillian Michaels, right? She’s one of the trainers from The Biggest Loser.

Well, just like last year, I’ve been stalling a bit in my weight loss. Actually… I’m at about the same weight where I started to stall last year. This year, however, I’ve decided to kick my exercise into high-gear.

I’d much rather sit on my butt all day. I’ll go on 5 to 8 mile walks, but walking to the grocery store down the street is “too far.” I think that tells you something right there. The fact that people claim to see some results after only a few days (with 20 minute workouts) also tells you something.

The DVD consists of three levels, each consisting of three six-minute circuits. Each circuit has three minutes of strength training, two minutes of cardio, and one minute of abdominal exercises. Right now, I’m at level one.

Honestly, I think the DVD needs a different title… like the “Jillian Michaels 1 Day Shred.” Why? Because after one day you want to hunt Jillian Michael’s down and shred her into little tiny pieces as revenge. (Fortunately for her, by day two or three you’re too sore and worn out to do anything to her.)

I’ve been doing this for three days. I’m a bit sore/uncomfortable overall… and bending and straightening my legs (to sit and stand) KILLS me. I skipped half of the lunges/squats today because it was too painful (or I modified them to a point where I basically skipped them). It’s a TOUGH workout. However, even after three days I’m seeing an improvement. The push-ups aren’t quite as hard… I’m probably doing them wrong (and I’m doing the ‘girly’ ones on top of that), but they’re a bit easier. More incredible is my endurance during the cardio. I took fewer breaks during the first two circuits, and during the last one I made it through the full two minutes without stopping. The DVD also seemed a LOT shorter today… just as hard, but it went by more quickly.

Somehow, I have a feeling that Mr. Advil, Mr. Aleeve, Mr. Tylenol, and Mr. Excedrin will become my best friends over the next 30 days. Although, I must say that Mr. E here isn’t really doing his job. “Extra strength” really means nothing. I just hope this is all worth the pain. Maybe when the 30 days are over I’ll continue for a longer period of time, or I’ll start rotating the workouts with some Walk Away the Pounds DVDs. I’m not sure exactly what I’m doing, but I’m DEFINITELY going to be working my butt off over the next few months. With the possibility of getting a little off-plan with the holidays, I should at LEAST keep on track with my activity. It should help me survive the next couple months before I get a break from holiday temptations… and by then I’ll be starting to follow the new Weight Watchers plan, so that will help me get back on track. Losing some weight during the holidays will be nice, but not gaining will be just as bad… and depending on how my Christmas plans turn out the last two weeks of December might be the worst. It might not be just two or three days during the course of the season… but I can’t let those few days undo six months of progress, can I?

Hopefully, Jillian and Leslie will help me out here.

