Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Insomnia

Image by MoonSoleil via Flickr

I wouldn’t say that I’m an “emotional eater.”

That is, I don’t eat as a direct cause of my emotions.

Sure, there are days when I’m stressed and the only cure is a piece of good chocolate, but I can easily satisfy that with a tiny bit of chocolate- dark chocolate works best.

The problem is, I’m an emotional sleeper. When I go through a change in environment (like moving across the country and back in two weeks), or I’m stressed about school, work, family, etc., my sleep schedule goes insane. I start sleeping during the day, but I’ll be up all night. I’ll go one day without any sleep at all, and the next day I’ll get 15 hours of sleep.

So, with wacky sleep schedules (and we’re not even getting into the time zone adjustment!) it often feels impossible to stay on track with a “diet.” I’ll stop eating after midnight, but when you’re up until 3 or 4 AM (or later) some nights, and then you sleep in until after noon, you wake up hungry.

Or those days when I get almost no sleep because I’m too stressed, and I’m just too tired to care about measuring portions (not to mention I never know what day to track under when I’ve been up for over 24 hours).

I’ve been having a hard time staying on track with Weight Watchers for more than a week or so. Two weeks ago, I moved to New Mexico. I’m back in Jersey now. It’s absolutely insane!

I know I can’t be the only college student who deals with sleep deprivation and insomnia while struggling to lose weight. I’m sure there’s someone out there who can relate to crazy eating and sleeping schedules because of school, work, travel, or any combination of the above. I’d love some advice for getting through this.

At least, even with this setback this week, I’m still set on my 2011 goal of not drinking my calories. There’s a Non-Scale Victory for me- even if I’ll likely gain at this week’s weigh-in.

I’ve also learned, the hard way, that I cannot resist ribs.

