Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Corned Beef & Cabbage

Image by pirate johnny via Flickr

The worst thing about trying to get back on track with a “diet” (or eating right) is the hunger and cravings. I have been starving all week, and that’s not because I haven’t eaten. I’ve eaten a lot. I went through a week’s worth of fruit in less than two days. I’m aware that I have a problem, but at least it’s fruit. Who ever heard of someone getting fat eating apples and grapes? Mmmm

I guess a sudden switch from a high calorie high fat diet to eating fruits and vegetables at every meal is too much for my body (even though I didn’t have this problem a couple of weeks ago when I was in Queso Dip, New Mexico). I’m not sure, but staying on track has felt nearly IMPOSSIBLE.

And then, the week I’m trying to get back on track we approach a holiday of dread: St. Patrick‘s Day.

Now, I am not Irish. I’m Scottish, Danish, and maybe a little German and English (and who knows what else). I don’t care about wearing green (besides, wearing a yellow shirt and blue jeans should count).

Restaurants today were serving a special corned beef and cabbage dinner. True, the holiday was an excuse to shrink portions and hike the prices up, but corned beef is delicious! It would have been a decent dinner too- had it not been for the Irish soda bread and Irish soda bread pudding with coffee ice cream. Mmmmm.

The nice thing about Weight Watchers is that it’s not really “cheating” if I indulge in this once-yearly treat. The problem is, I’ve had a hard time staying on track and this might derail me- again.

Tomorrow, I’m going to be eating a ton of produce and I’ll hopefully be going out for a walk (it’s supposed to be in the 70s! Yay!) Hopefully, I’ll be able to get back on track this time. I’m back in my larger jeans after a week of pigging out and I’m trying to drop the inches I gained so I can toss these out!

I’m sort of scared of weighing in on Sunday.

