Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m what someone in the Weight Watchers community would call a “POINTS Hoarder.

I’m the kind of person who is afraid to eat during the day because something may or may not happen later on in the day. I don’t want to waste my POINTS on a mid-morning snack when I might end up needing an extra POINT or two at dinner.

One of the things that makes Weight Watchers stand out among other “diets” is their approach to the amount of food you can eat.

They have no problem with you eating a few POINTS over your Daily Target. That’s what your weekly allowance (and Activity POINTS) are there for.

Just don’t even think about going UNDER your daily target.

Yes. A weight loss program that encourages you to eat more- not less.

Sounds ideal to me!

The problem with this in conjunction with my hoarding is that I’m pressured to eat the half-dozen (or more) POINTS I have left at the end of the day. At 10PM, this means eating an entire pack of black and white cookies at Starbucks (or even more!) It means eating chips and pretzels at home- anything to help make up for the painfully high number of POINTS I have left.

And eating half your daily target on junk food isn’t exactly the way I want to be losing this weight. Besides, it always backfires on me sooner or later.

But, I get so used to hoarding that when nighttime comes, my desire for junk food grows stronger. I want to pig out on everything that’s unhealthy just because that’s what I’m used to doing.

And then, my willpower fades into nothingness and I eat just about everything in sight: grilled cheese, corned beef, bread pudding, chicken ‘n’ waffles, hush puppies, cookies, Starbucks cake pops, ice cream, french fries… the list goes on and on.

It doesn’t matter how good I am for the first half of the week. Eating like this during the second half of the week can easily turn a potentially successful week into a devastating one.

I am praying that most of the TWELVE pounds I gained in the past two weeks is just water weight. I’ve lost less weight since restarting in January than I gained in the past week or two.

Any fellow POINTS (or calorie) hoarders out there who share my pain? I’d love to hear your stories!

Leave a comment!

