Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Ikea Swedish meatballs

Image by churl via Flickr

It’s midnight.

I’m hungry.

I have about 150 calories left over, but I hate eating after midnight unless it’s a pre-planned snack. I never know which day to put late-night snacks on. Does a new day start at midnight, or does it start after I wake up?

Anyhoo, for some reason I’m not thinking of usual foods I crave: cookies, chips, ice-cream, fried chicken, etc. I don’t want to go to Ruby Tuesdays or Applebees. I don’t want french fries.

I want to go to IKEA!

I actually love interior design. I don’t know much about it, but I love watching shows like Design on a Dime and other HGTV programs. If I had any artistic abilities, I would probably spend a lot of time designing and re-designing my dream room. (Right now, it would involve a lot of black, silver, white, purple, green, and a touch of hot pink- with furniture from IKEA).

Last time I went to IKEA was when I was in Utah. We didn’t get to walk around and look at any of the furniture (which was almost as much as a shame as sitting down and having my thighs squish out to twice their size). The whole point of going to IKEA is spending hours looking at the different displays, planning dream rooms, and getting lost in the excitement of it all.

I really want to go to IKEA right now. I want to go look at furniture and I want to eat.

Now, the old me is thinking about getting a huge plate of Swedish meatballs with mashed potatoes and lingonberry jam. However, I think I’ll have to opt for a smaller plate. The one with five meatballs has 18 grams of fat and 365 calories (before you add the cream sauce- which is a must-have!) Sure, they have salmon and a few lower-calorie options. However, I can’t get a meal at IKEA and skip the meatballs- and I shouldn’t have to!

I’ll just pair my meatballs and potatoes (I’m a bit bummed they don’t have the boiled potatoes anymore- I always got those!) with the biggest veggie-filled salad I can get (with the lightest dressing there!) If I pair that with a ton of walking and a Jillian Michaels workout, I can easily fit a trip to IKEA into my “diet.”

Why should I have to give up food I love because I’m trying to lose weight?

Are there any food items that you won’t give up- even if there are probably slightly better options?

