Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


I’ve been thinking a lot about my childhood lunch favorites lately. I guess there’s something about the idea of packing meals that makes me feel like a kid again.

I also used to decorate my lunchboxes when I was younger. I wish I could find a picture of just one of my childhood backpacks or lunchboxes. True, looking back, my mom was the one who really did the work, but I have to say it’s a lot more fun having a backpack or lunchbox that’s just a little different than everyone else’s.

Honestly, I think realizing that everyone seems to love adding a personalized touch to their EasyLunchbox Cooler Bags was one of the factors that drew me into buying one for myself. I promptly decorated it with sparkly iron-on letters (which I glued on), and fabric cut outs of cows and flowers. When I was faced with having to choose between the steamed chicken, veggies, and brown rice I packed and a meal at Burger King a couple weeks ago, it was a no-brainer. I wanted the lunch I packed because I loved the lunchbag I decorated!

The same worked again when faced with the decision of eating the cookies in the pantry, or my own snack of strawberries, mangoes, figs, almonds, carrots, cottage cheese, and popcorn. 

There’s just one teeny-tiny little problem.

I have a new cooler bag now!

Now, having a new cooler bag is definitely a great thing because it gives me a chance to try out a new decorating theme. I’ve decided to stray away from fabric cut-outs (but my little cow keychain has moved to my new pink bag). I just don’t know what I am going to do to decorate my bag now!

The only idea I can come up with is taking random round buttons (I’ll probably stick to a color scheme- maybe black and white ones) and sewing them randomly on the bag.

There are a ton of great ideas (including my cow themed design) on the EasyLunchbox gallery (click the link!), but I want to hear some of your ideas. Did you ever decorate your lunchboxes or backpacks as a child (or for your child?) How would you decorate your own cooler bag if you had one now?

And for those of you who are dieting or trying to lose weight, do you think the bag you pack your lunch in (or the plate you eat off of) makes a difference?

A special thanks to Kelly Lester of EasyLunchboxes.com for promoting my last From the Scales of Lissa Kristine post on her Facebook and Twitter accounts. Thanks to her, September 28, 2011 has had the highest number of views (243) since my blog opened. My previous record (226 views) was on June 29, 2011 when Irene Alvarado [Biggest Loser, Season 11] and Natalie Grant both retweeted links for my 20th Birthday.

