Tags

, , , , , , ,

A couple weeks ago, I did a feature on EasyLunchboxes and my idea of creating “Adult Lunchables.” I have yet to actually create any of these adult lunchables- but I will in the near future.

I have two jobs. On weekday afternoons, I babysit a second-grader after school. Then, on occasional weekends (a couple times a month) I work as a “Birthday Party Assistant.” On top of that, I babysit twice at LEAST twice a month on Saturday nights. This means that there are Saturdays where I work 12+ hours.

October 22 will be one of those Saturdays. I’m working from 11 to 5 (although, I am always early). After that, I am babysitting until whenever.

Fun! Fun! Fun! (Looking forward to the weekend.*)

The nature of my weekend job (The Birthday party assistant one) is one that I don’t have lunch breaks. I’ve worked 10 hour days before, and during the time between parties there’s a tiny bit of downtime. However, that’s spent setting up for the next party, filling goody bags, and cleaning. There isn’t always a guarantee I can sit and enjoy a real lunch. Not that I’m complaining or anything. I love this job.

However, that means that the traditional “adult lunch” suggestions of soup and salad aren’t the best options for me on work weekends. There are weekends where I can take a bite here or there in between running around. It’s best to avoid complicated dishes or utensils.

So, I think on this particular weekend I’ll have a hummus lunch: fresh veggies (carrots, celery, cucumber, broccoli, cauliflower) with whole wheat mini pitas, and some fruit. We’re talking a full-fledged “finger food” lunch. I might even take some ham and make those “ham roll-ups” I see on the different lunchbox idea websites. This way, I can take bites here and there in between working.

Sometimes, you need to take your old concept of lunchables and “grow them up” like Starbucks did. However, there are times when looking at these cute finger-food lunch ideas is the best option no matter what the age.

Besides, finger foods and appetizers go hand-in-hand, and this job is doing Birthday parties. Maybe I should start making my work lunches using different healthy party appetizer recipes.

 

 

