Tags

, , , , , , ,

 It’s in your closet right now, isn’t it?

It’s a shirt, a pair of jeans, a dress.

Maybe it was your favorite thing to wear once upon a time.

Maybe it’s been collecting dust for years with the original tags still attached.

I was cleaning my room earlier this week, and while I put a few shirts in my closet, I came across this hooded shirt. I bought it at the Gap Outlet in Atlantic City back when Alex and I were celebrating our 18th Birthdays together. It was one of those shirts that I could almost fit into. A few more pounds, and it would be great.

I’ve never worn it. In fact, right now, I’m afraid to even see how far I have to go before that small shirt comes close to fitting.

It’s sad.

It’s just sad.

In August 2009, I was on the brink of fitting into a Gap size small. Today, I wouldn’t even bother looking at the clothes on the rack. I’m fatter than ever before.

I’ve been dreaming of this full makeover where I feel confident enough to go to a store and buy a shirt that is about 80 times what I would spend on a top today. I cannot wait to take everything in my closet and throw it away.

Everything, except that one shirt.

There’s also an expensive, $85 Starbucks shirt that I’d love to get, but I’m not sure if even losing weight will be enough for me to be willing to spend that kind of money on a t-shirt.

So what’s the outfit you have hidden in your closet just waiting for the day that you are finally skinny enough to wear?

