Tags

, , , , , , ,

When I did Weight Watchers back in 2009, there was something I did differently than any other time I tried Sparkpeople or Weight Watchers. It wasn’t that I lived off of a processed diet with a daily caramel frappucino and chocolate covered pretzel (my diet actually got a LOT healthier my second time on WW- more real food.)

My first time on Weight Watchers, I actually went shopping periodically. I was still quite a ways from goal, but I still shopped for new clothes as I lost weight. During my second time around, however, I had a new rule: I was not to purchase any new clothes until I was at goal. I vowed to only get the bare necessities and shop at thrift stores as often as possible.

And, so, I’ve been wearing a very limited wardrobe. I have shirts that are too big, and shirts that are too small. I’ve been wearing my clothes out. Until this afternoon, I had a huge collection of jeans: none of which fit me.

Today, I threw out all of those jeans. I kept one pair: the only pair that actually fits me right now. If my jeans get too big for me, I’ll wear a belt for a little while and browse the clearance rack for new ones (hey, I’m not going to pay full price on size 12-14 jeans if I don’t have to! Heck, I’ll search sales even at my goal weight).

Instead of wearing old, junky clothes until I reach my ultimate goal, I’m going to wear clothes that look good on me throughout my journey. I’m not going to hide under a t-shirt and guy’s board shorts when I go to the beach this summer. I’m going to find the most flattering bathing suit I can find. I know I won’t be able to fit into anything less than a size 16 or 18 in swimwear this summer, but that doesn’t mean I can’t dress for what I am/what I have.

I’m going to be kind to myself from now on. I’ll wear clothes that fit me, and I’ll adjust as I lose weight. I’m not going to hold onto clothes that are too small in hopes that I’ll fit into them. Heck, those size 6 jeans in my closet were frayed at the bottom anyway! When I’m back in that size (and it’s a when) I want to wear new pants- not old ones that have been collecting dust in my closet for years).

My next goal is to work on becoming more of a food snob: picking only the best splurges and enjoying every bite.

