Tags

, , , , , ,

So, I have probably signed up for-and ignored- every one of Lauren’s (SPARKGIRL32) Vitality Challenges, but this one is different. I am actually doing it- well, the first prompt at least. 

What are you hoping to get out of this challenge? By the end of the 15 days…where do you want to be? What clutter do you want to have cleared? Is there a specific room or closet in the house you want to have completely organized? What is gone that you were hanging around to before that is no longer serving you (physically, emotionally, mentally, or spiritually)? 

Why did you choose to participate in this challenge? Why was it important to you? 

How are you going to keep yourself accountable? Are you going to comment on other people’s blogs? Get an accountability buddy? Tell a friend you are participating? Journal every single day? 

At the end of the challenge, what do you want to FEEL like? Do you want to feel lighter? More focused? More organized? Super accomplished? 

Ok, here’s a little confession for you. At this moment, I guess I am not following the challenge. Currently, due to my disorganization, 99% of my belongings are in the basement, and my closet is bare. I have purged my belongings, and the ones that remain are not easily accessible at the moment. There are no physical items for me to throw out and no closets to be cleaned this time around. 

For about a month, I was on FIAH- Not fire; FIAH- when my weight loss goals were concerned. I was tracking, staying in my ranges, working out, and feeling great. Then, I went on vacation. I indulged a little more than I originally planned: Kohrs, fried Oreos, and funnel cake proved too hard to resist. A trip into NYC that followed involved doughnuts, pasta, Chobani, and gelato did not help matters much. 

I jumped right back on track with my healthy diet and Jillian Michael’s Body Revolution, and my hunger levels soared through the roof. Even eating near the middle to top of my calorie ranges, I was still hungry. So, it became easier and easier to indulge in pizza, cheesy garlic bread, fried macaroni and cheese, and cake among other things. 

So, I have been considering that, perhaps, I need to focus on quality rather than quantity for a while. Rather than stressing over calories and ranges, I am going to focus on eating better foods through a modified paleo diet. 

Now, I am not going to the Whole30 extreme. I will still allow dairy (mostly low fat or whole milk plain Greek yogurt with organic honey- though I will have some presweetened yogurts on occasion). I am not eliminating all sugar, and I am sure the butternut squash soup I have has both cream and corn starch. I am also going to still enjoy non-paleo desserts when eating out, but I’m not going to eat something I don’t really enjoy. 

A couple of my friends are taking this approach, and they are doing great. I did love the food I cooked on my Whole5/Whole6. Eggs and sweet potatoes fried in coconut oil. Mmmmmm. 

I’m starting this tomorrow, but tonight I plan on blending frozen berries, coconut milk, and a touch of honey to make paleo Popsicles (I will leave a few whole berries in the mix). Breakfast tomorrow will probably be organic frozen fruit (strawberries, mango, and pineapple) with eggs and sweet potato fried in coconut oil. Lunch will involve chicken apple sausage and broccoli. 

I am hoping that I will lose some more weight and get in control over my eating habits. I keep saying my goal is to lose about 50 pounds, but more importantly, I want to have a healthy body fat percentage and get down to a size 4-8 in jeans (SINGLE DIGITS!) The number on the scale is less important to me. 

What’s more important is a healthy body fat percentage and the way I feel. 

[Edit: August 14, 2013]. I suppose I have come up with something that I can focus on organizing and cleaning: my blog. I have recently, as you may be able to tell, split my website: HoneyLissaBee.com into two separate websites, so there is quite a bit of clean up to do. I have old banners on many posts, possible post duplicates, and more to finish before my blog is really in tip-top shape. 

