Tags

, , , , , , ,

I am a self-diagnosed compulsive overeater/food addict (though I do not qualify for binge eating disorder).

I’ve been on various diet plans from counting calories or points to going low-carb/paleo. Typically, they end with me overeating potato chips, snack cakes, and other junk food. Even when I was successful with Weight Watchers (twice) I ended up gaining all the weight lost back within 5-6 months.

I eat past the point of fullness constantly, and even though I know I’d much rather have a good steak with sweet potato fries, a side salad, and some grilled asparagus, I still opt for the mediocre frozen pizza.

It doesn’t matter how sick the chemically-laden food makes me, I just can’t seem to shake this. I have lost weight before, but now I can’t seem to stick to a diet plan for very long, and I’m heavier than ever.

I envision myself eating a healthy, balanced diet without obsessing over calories and measurements. I do want to give up a lot of chemicals (hfcs, hydrogenated oils, etc- I’ve already given up artificial sweeteners- I stick with sugar and honey). I want to be able to enjoy everything from pizza to french fries to cupcakes (good homemade cupcakes) without them controlling me.

I have looked up various overeaters eating plans and they are all rigid plans with a set guideline to set around each meal. And I can easily make a diet around those guidelines (loosely at least)- when eating at home, but not when eating out. And I’m not at a point where I can give up sugar. It’s not that I feel an overwhelming attachment to sugar, but it’s just nearly impossible to avoid. Chobani yogurt with honey or the fruit-flavored varieties are a staple in my diet- and they’ve never caused me to overeat. Plus I do have a social life where I eat out, and there often aren’t options that fit wit such a strict diet plan- and if I can’t stick to the plan, I’ll go on an all-you-can-eat binge-spree.

I want to just eat like a normal person. I don’t mind giving up MSG and hydrogenated oils, but I still want to have chocolate and cake and pizza and hot wings and fries. I just want to be able to eat when I’m hungry, stop when I’m full, and be able to lose some weight. I want to be the kind of person that is satisfied by a bite of dessert and doesn’t need to eat the entire cake.

 

 

