Tags

, , , , , , ,

For this challenge, we are going to be focusing on why you procrastinate in ONE specific area (you can reuse these prompts to tackle other areas in the future). So get specific on what area in your life you want to stop procrastinating in. Is it your weight loss plans? Going back to school? Cleaning out the clutter from your house? Starting your business? Writing that book? Leaving your current job that makes you miserable? You decide and then focus on that specific area for ALL the prompts. Trust me, when you start to understand why you procrastinate in one area…it’ll leak into understanding why you procrastinate in other areas too. For the purpose of this challenge though, try to focus on ONE area.
 
What specific procrastination area do YOU want to focus on for the duration of this challenge? Why did you choose this area? What would it look like if you were able to overcome procrastination in this area? What are you hoping to get out of this challenge? By the end of the 15 days…where do you want to be? 
 
Why did you choose to participate in this challenge? Why was it important to you?
 
How are you going to keep yourself accountable? Are you going to comment on other people’s blogs? Get an accountability buddy? Tell a friend you are participating? Journal every single day? 
 
At the end of the challenge, what do you want to FEEL like? Do you want to feel accomplished? More focused? Like you can do ANYTHING? 🙂
 
So, I actually had this prompt from the time the last challenge ended, and this challenge officially started on Monday. The fact that I am just now writing this response is pretty ironic considering this is the “Procrastination Edition.”
 
I’m pretty sure by now we all know that I do these challenges my own way. And by that, I mean that half the time I copy and paste the prompt, but write what I want to write anyway. Any relationship between the prompt and my blog post is usually coincidental. I doubt this will be much different.
 
I’m a queen of procrastination. In fact, I’m pretty sure the only thing I haven’t been able to procrastinate on is procrastinating, and even that may not be entirely true.
 
Take today for example. I have a goal to take over 11,000 steps a day. At around 3:30pm, my step count was about 440 steps. Which meant that, once again, I was walking around the block after 10pm to get my steps in. Now, I did reach my goal, as always, but if I would go on a walk earlier in the day, I probably wouldn’t have this problem. In fact, I’d probably not only reach my goal earlier in the day, but I’d exceed it too.
 
And let’s not get started about the number of times I’ve been hungry, but too lazy to figure out what to eat, so instead I just let myself get hungrier and hungrier and hungrier. I’m sure we all know where that leads eventually.
 
I’m not really sure I’m going to pick a specific area to focus on because, I think in a way, I actually started this challenge before it started.
 
A few months ago, Hannah Curlee and Olivia Ward (the runner up and winner of Season 11 of The Biggest Loser, both sisters on the purple team) introduced me to DietBets via Twitter. It’s a fairly simple concept. There is a pot, and everyone who wants to participate puts a specific amount in the pot, say $25. Then, everyone has 4 weeks to lose 4% of their starting weight. Whoever reaches his or her individual goal gets to split the pot with other players who also reached their goals.
 
Seems simple enough, and even though I’m not one to hide her weight on sites like it, I can appreciate the added privacy features. The only people who ever see your weight and verification photos are you and the DietBet referees (who are there to make sure there’s no foul play). Sharing this information is strictly optional!
 
I’ve been intrigued by this DietBet thing, but I hesitated to join. After all, I lacked the confidence that I would be able to stick to my plan long enough to weigh in and reach my goal at the end of the 4 weeks. I wanted to be secure in a diet plan before I started betting money on it.
 
(Of course, I also considered the first week weight loss. That is always a nice little boost!)
 
So, I’m not sure exactly what compelled me to take a risk. I’m sure a Monday start date was a deciding factor, but there must have been something else that contributed to letting Hannah and Olivia both talk me into joining their DietBet. Whatever the reason, I scrounged around for the $25 to sign up.
 
Right now, I’m doing the one thing that actually got me results on the scale: Weight Watchers. I’m just doing it a little differently than before. Since I’m not interested in investing in any membership, I’m operating on the concept that 1 point equals 40 calories. So, if I have 30 points per day, I’ll multiply 30 by 40 to get my calorie goal for the day, which I track on MyFitnessPal. Now, fruit and veggies are still free foods, and I can earn extra calories a day through activity. I’m trying not to dip too far into them unless I’m legitimately hungry though (I went over by 100 calories or so last week, but I was also more active on that day, so it evens out). Like I did the first time I was on Weight Watchers, once a week (Monday nights), I will have a cheat meal where I will eat whatever I want regardless of the calories.
 
I’m still in shock that I decided to jump into this DietBet not knowing if this idea of following Weight Watchers on MyFitnessPal would work, but I’m glad I did. I definitely have wanted to quit many times, but I’ve managed to lose close to 6 pounds in week 1. My goal is just shy of 8 pounds, so I’m more than halfway there already.
 
There is still time to join this one, though you’ll still need to lose 4% of your starting weight (you can join up until halfway through the game, and people are still joining!). I’ll post links to my favorite DietBets that are going on right now.
 
MyFitspiration DietBet (This is the one I’m doing!): http://www.dietbetter.com/games/22625 [Ends October 7]
 
Alex Respess DietBet (Alex was in season 1 of Extreme [Makeover] Weight Loss [Edition] and is the boyfriend of Courtney Crozier from season 11 of the Biggest Loser): http://www.dietbetter.com/games/22234 [Ends October 14]
 
Jillian Michaels DietBet: http://www.dietbetter.com/games/23663 [Starts September 24]
 
Of course, the MyFitspiration DietBet is accepting donations to the “Lissa is unemployed and poor and wouldn’t mind it if people just bet money with no intention of actually loosing weight” Foundation. So, this would be perfect for a large group of people interested in gaining or maintaining weight.
 
What? Nobody’s interested?
 
Darn…
 
I had to try though.
 
Still, I think there is something to be said about betting against myself. My goal isn’t too absurd. 7.7 pounds in 4 weeks is a reasonable goal, especially with losing 5.6 pounds in the first week. Hopefully, I’m on track to losing a good chunk of weight next week as well. My personal goal is 5% of my starting weight, and my stretch goal is 10 pounds in 4 weeks.
 
I just have to wait to see what the scale says come Monday. More importantly, I need to see what the scale says when it’s time to submit my final weigh-in.
